Transition Year Graduation 2011


If you can see this, then you might need a Flash Player upgrade or you need to install Flash Player if it's missing. Get Flash Player from Adobe.

After a very successful and jam packed year the transition Year Students of Elphin Community College finally had their Graduation evening on Thursday 26th May.   A  display of the work, including their TY folder and personalized poster along with a photographic display greeted the parents and other guests when they gathered for the event.   After a viewing of the stands, Gary Brennan gave the group a tour of the garden area where the TY students had set up a vegetable plot.

The award ceremony began with an opening address by Marie Lee, Principal,  where she congratulated the group on all of their achievements through the year and acknowledged the positive message they gave to the outside community.

Brian Higgins and Paul Noone, TY co-ordinators  then outlined the activities over the year.

Eddie Flanagan, Clr Valerie Byrne expressed gratitude to the TY students for their work with them and also outlined aspects of their involvement in projects.

A pack containing a range of Certificates was presented to the students along with individual awards (list below)

To conclude, a photo and video slideshow prepared by the TY co-ordinators along with TY students was shown ending a very enjoyable evening





STUDENTS OF THE YEARS: Pooky Mitchell, Michael Macken, Laura Crotty, Shane Killoran

CO-ORDINITATORS AWARD: Pooky Mitchell, Finbarr McDermott and Deborah Beirne

John Morkan Award: Finbar McDermott

Liam Staunton Award: Finbar McDermott

SPIKEBALL AWARDS: Pooky Mitchell and Hazel Conroy

Macra Quiz Team of  Donal Brady Finbar McDermott, Cathal Brady & James Dwyer

Public Speaking Team of Cathal Brady, Deborah Beirne & Shane Killoran

GAISCE  BRONZE AWARDS: Mark Brennan Hazel Conroy and Finbar McDermott

MACRA QUIZ WINNERS: Donal and Cathal Brady, Finbar McDermott

TAKING FLIGHT AWARDS: P. Anderson, M. Higgins, M. Macken O. O’Brien and O. Patton, S Coll,

L. Crotty, P. Ryan. SPECIAL AWARD: Conor Sweeney and Pooky Mitchell



%d bloggers like this: