Student of the Term Awards

Elphin Community College held their end of term awards on Thursday 22ndMarch.  We were delighted to have Mr Jason Kelly from the Dept of Education here to share in the celebrations. Jason was in the school as part of an incidental inspection and was happy to wait around for the awards ceremony and witness first-hand the wealth of talent that runs deep in Elphin Community College.

Student of the term awards were presented to Killian Macken (Leaving Cert), Alanna Weston and Hannah Macken (Pre-Leaving), Morgan Kearns (Transition Year), Chloe Higgins (Junior Cert), Karl Gilmartin (2ndYear) and Heidi Glas and Kate Muldowney (1stYear). This award celebrates the students’ academic and extra-curricular contribution to the school.

Mr O’ Dowd presented technology awards to the following students: Aisling Ryan and Alexander Klaussen Mulvihill (1styear), Alan Gormely, Sarah Canning and Henry Dowd (2ndyear), Binta Traboue and Ciaran Ryan (3rdYear), Jake Kennedy and Jack Murphy (TY), Kristoffer Klaussen Mulvihill and Gilbert Muldowney (Pre-Leaving), John Rattigan and James Beirne (Leaving cert)

TY co-ordinator Ms Prendergast presented certificates to Alanagh Loftus, Rachel Muldowney, Paul Molloy and Lucy Fallon for their participation in the Knights of St. Columbanus Competition. The students were placed 2ndin Roscommon and did themselves, their families and their school very proud. Well done to Lucy, Rachel and Paul.

A poster to highlight the success of Jack Murphy and Jake Kennedy (Curlew Mountain Forge) was presented to the boys at the awards Ceremony. These students are representing Roscommon in the National Student Enterprise awards in Croke Park on the 2ndMay.

Jack and Jake are among a small number of national finalists that have also been selected to attend a photo-shoot on 15thApril to create awareness about the National Final.  Photos will be sent to national and local media. Their bespoke metal products are sure to impress the journalists at the photo shoot and indeed the Judges at the final. We wish them the very best of luck in the competition.

Posters to advertise the success of Elphin Community College in the Western regional final of Junk Kouture were also presented to Head Space (Alan Costello, Rachel Muldowney and Grace Kielty) and Banrion Connacht (Ellen Tiernan, Jack Murphy and Emily Keane). Both groups qualified to the National finals taking place on the 19thApril. We wish them every success in the final.

Laura Muldowney, Lucy Fallon, Ronan Glancy, David Wynne, Gilbert Muldowney and Emmet Durr joined forces with the students involved in Junk Kouture for a school Float that won 2ndplace in the Elphin St Patrick’s Day Parade. A cheque for €250 was presented to the students on the day. Special thanks to Glancy’s shop for providing the trunk for the float and Counsellor Valerie Byrne for promoting the local parade in our school. We were delighted to be part of it. The Junk Kouture students and their families travelling to the 3 arena for the National Finals on the 19thApril very much appreciate the prize money which will help pay some of their expenses in Dublin.

%d bloggers like this: