Awards Ceremony 2013

As the academic year came to a close  last the students gathered for the annual awards ceremony. After another successful year of endeavor in several areas, students were publicly acknowledged for their contribution.

Achievement in Sport: The successful Senior Football team were presented with their Connacht medals after capturing the Connacht title 2 weeks earlier.

Luke Mollahan and Sarah Cox picked up the Junior awards in this category while Saffron Cull and Gerard McDermottroe picked up the Senior awards.

DSCF1046 DSCF1040

The school also presented the inaugural County Roscommon Second Level Schools Handball Plaque and medals to Joseph Beirne, Eoin Mulvihill, N. Higgins and John Rattigan.


Joseph Beirne, Aaron Brady and Conor Taylor were also awarded the inaugural School Golf  Trophy who beat the Teacher’s Team last week.


Finally in now its  9th year the overall Sports person of the year award went to Shane Killoran who represented the school proudly in Football, Soccer, Volleyball and of course was a member of the county U21 team this year.


Technology Awards: Awards to students from each year studying Woodwork, Metalwork, Technical Graphics at junior cycle and to students studying Construction Studies, Engineering and Design and Communications Graphics at senior cycle were presented by P. Noone and B. Higgins.

Joshua Roxby received the Junior Cert project award in both Metalwork and Woodwork.DSCF1055DSCF1062

Deborah Beirne was presented with her award in Design and Communication Graphics while Gerard McDermottroe won the Engineering award.DSCF1051 DSCF1052

Finally in this section Finbar McDermott and Cathal Brady picked up a joint award for the Construction Studies project.DSCF1059

Arts Awards: S. Holohan presented awards to the following students for their excellence in art over the academic year. Luke McEvoy, Geeta Mitchell, Catriona Beirne and Steven Crann.



Film Awards: The school has a rising reputation in film making and students were presented with cinema tickets to watch any film of their choice in Carrick on Shannon where their winning Anti Litter film will preview before each film over the coming weeks. The students also received a DVD of the film “DEIS” which they recorded with Action Films recently.

Reading Challenge Awards: The first year students were presented with certificates by S. Prendergast for their reading challenge over a 5 week period were they visited Elphin Library and read from a variety of books on offer.

Liam Staunton Memorial Trophy: Kinga Pawlak picked up this award for receiving the highest mark in Junior Cert Science for 2012.

John Morkan Memorial Trophy: Kinga Pawlak also won this award for the best Junior Certificate Result of 2012.


Bank of Ireland Awards: Maria Conlon from Elphin, Bank of Ireland presented the Senior and Junior awards to Edel Hegoburu in 3rd Year.


She also presented joint awards to Finbar McDermott and Gerard McDermottroe from Leaving Cert.DSCF1030

Student of the Year: Students from each year received cerrtificates to acknowledge  the particular contribution that they have made to the school during the year.

Awards winners were:

First Year: Padraig Loftus. Second Year: Cathal Mulvey and Lydia Dwyer. Junior Cert: Emma McDermottroe and Joshua Roxby. Transition Year: Katie Killoran & Adrian Hynes. Fifth Year: Kevin Rattigan & Muireann Hennessy. Leaving Cert: Shane Killoran & Deborah Beirne



Awards on the day were also presented to students whose attendance was recognised while certificates were also awarded to students for their participation, behaviour and improvement over the academic year.

In his last address to the students the Acting Principal, Shane Holohan thanked students and staff for their support during his tenure and he wished Brian Higgins the best of luck in his new post.


%d bloggers like this: